• Karyn Johnstone

The 7 Chakra

Updated: Apr 3, 2019

What are Charka?

The Sanskrit word Chakra literally translates to wheel or disk. In yoga, meditation, and Ayurveda, this term refers to wheels of energy throughout the body. There are seven main chakras, which align the spine, starting from the base of the spine through to the crown of the head. To visualise a chakra in the body, imagine a swirling wheel of energy where matter and consciousness meet. This invisible energy, called Prana, is vital life force, which keeps us vibrant, healthy, and alive.

Whenever a chakra is disrupted or blocked, the life energy also gets blocked, leading to the onset of mental and health ailments. When the harmonious balance of the seven chakras is disrupted or damaged, it can cause several problems in our lives, including our physical health, emotional health and our mental state of mind.

Root Chakra

The first of the seven energy centres, Muladhara is also the most dense of them all. The main colour of this chakra is red which is also the most dense colour of all.

Sacral Chakra

Orange is the colour of your second chakra, which is located bellow the navel. The main energy of this colour is creativity and feelings.

Solar Plexus Chakra

Yellow. The centre of our being - the colour of sunshine and the colour of the third energy centre - the solar plexus chakra. The main energy of yellow is intellect.

Heart Chakra

Green is the main heart chakra colour. It is the colour of healing, balance, tranquility, and serenity. Green brings wholeness to our lives and it is the colour most frequently found in nature.

Throat Chakra

The throat chakra is the fifth chakra and its colour is blue. It is one the three primary colours. The main energy of blue is communication and it is the colour used to soothe the soul.

Third Eye Chakr

Indigo is the colour of the sixth energy centre - your third eye chakra. It is the colour that opens the consciousness and brings awareness to higher planes and connects us with the spiritual world.

Crown Chakra

Violet is the colour of the crown chakra and it is the colour of cosmic awareness and cosmic consciousness. It is a unifying colour, the colour of oneness and spirituality. The energy of this colour is very healing and can soothe away pain.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All